Climate Zones in British Columbia

An outline of different climatic zones and how BC's regions fit within them

A guide for different microclimates and climatic zones

Microclimates are pockets that differ significantly from an area’s overall climatic zone. They can be created by features that modify climate such as protected spots, exposed areas, elevation, and north/south facing slopes, walls and canyons.

Microclimates allow you to grow plants that would not normally grow in your area. Ask garden centre staff how to protect plants that may be marginal in your zone.


  • Zone 0: below -45°C
  • Zone 1: -45°C
  • Zone 2: -45°C to -40°C
  • Zone 3: -40°C to -35°C
  • Zone 4: -35°C to -29°C
  • Zone 5: -29°C to -23°C
  • Zone 6: -23°C to -18°C
  • Zone 7: -18°C to -12°C
  • Zone 8: -12°C to -7°C
  • Zone 9: -7°C to -1°C

BC Regions

  • Lower Mainland: Zone 7/8
  • Vancouver Island: Zone 8
  • Sunshine Coast : Zone 7/8
  • Okanagan Valley : Zone 4/5
  • Prince George: Zone 3
  • Prince Rupert: Zone 6/7
  • Peace River area: Zone 2